There will always be someone who says they can do it cheaper. But at what cost are you willing to take that chance when choosing a Real Estate School provider? Choose a school that specializes in Real Estate Education and not one that benefits from it. If you get excited about helping people buy and sell property in the everglade State, here’s 5 steps to your license in Florida.
To be eligible for a license in the state of Florida you need to be at least 18 years old, a high school graduate or equivalent, and have a U.S. Social Security number.
Step 1: Take the pre-license course
Take the state-approved sales associate 63-hour pre-license course. We offer this course online. NOTE: If you’re approved to practice law in Florida, you don’t need to take the pre-license course. You may take the sales associate exam by providing a copy of your current Florida Bar card to the exam application. Online courses are not live. Work at your own pace and start as soon as your register. You will read through slides, answer questions, images, charts and examples to make it easy to understand complex concepts. End-of-unit quizzes and a practice end-of-course exam reinforce key concepts and the practice activities provide an interactive method of concept reinforcement and self-testing.
There is no set schedule, you can log in and out as many times as you wish for up to 6 months however if it takes you 6 months to complete 63 hours of anything, it’s probably not a good choice any how! We recommend you decide how many hours can you commit to per week and set a goal for completion, that way you can project out when you can schedule the next steps.
Step 2: Finger printed and apply for the state license exam
- Get your electronic fingerprints for a background check. You’ll need to have your fingerprints taken at least 5 days before you send your license application. See where and how to get electronic fingerprints (PDF). Each fingerprint vendor sets the price for their services can range from $40-$90. You will need to provide your Social Security number and the following ORI number: FL920010Z.
- Submit an application to the DBPR. The fee is $83.75. The DBPR reviews all applications. The Pearson VUE company will email you when your application has been approved (can take up to 30 days).
Step 3: Take and pass the license exam
Pearson VUE oversees the state exam process and offers the course in a variety of formats and locations. The cost is $36.75 per exam. They will email you an “Authorization to Test”. This email includes your nine-digit Candidate ID number, which you need in order to sign up for the exam with Pearson VUE. To schedule an exam, call 888.204.6289 or visit PearsonVUE.com.
Your exam will be 100 multiple choice questions and the passing score is 75%.
Take advantage of our best exam prep materials. We offer an interactive study group, you connect with instructor and fellow students in our weekly Interactive Study Groups. Meet in a virtual classroom with a licensed instructor for added exam prep material and an opportunity to ask questions. Every Friday from 6 – 7:30 Pm. We recommend including the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Drill and Practice QBank and the Pre-Licensing Key Point Review MP3 Audiobook.
Just like any thing else, if you really want it, don’t give up or loose hope, your exam grade holds no bearing on what you will accomplish in your real estate business and nobody will know but you what you scored! Remember, the goal is to retain enough information to pass the exam, it’s doesn’t require you to know everything, just enough to pass.
Step 4: Apply for your license
After passing the exam, download and print your license through your secure account at the DBPR website. Once your initial license is activated, it is valid for 18 to 24 months, depending on when you pass the state exam. Here are the 5 Steps to your license in Florida, glad that part is over now you need to make the most important decision for your new real estate business.
Step 5: Find A sponsoring Broker
Your real estate license is not active until you are affiliated with a licensed broker. A sponsoring broker will activate your license using the DBPR RE 11–Sales Associate form (PDF).
Every real estate agent must work under a sponsoring broker to maintain a Real Estate Associate License in FL. Finding the right broker for you is very important. You want to choose a broker that you are comfortable with and can mentor you. Do not base choosing a broker solely on the commission split. Obviously, that is an important factor but 100% of nothing sold is $0.00.
As a new agent, you are going to need training, mentoring, support, and a company that is willing to stand beside you and your goals. You have a lot of choices. Do your homework. Interview with brokers. Different real estate agents have different goals and personalities so do not choose a broker just because you personally know someone who works there. What is a good fit for them, may not be a good fit for you.
All Brokerages WANT you. Keep in mind, this is not your typical job interview. You are interviewing them and they will tell you why you should join their team. If you were hiring someone to work for you, would you only interview one person or would you interview several and pick the best one for the job? Write down things that you are looking for in a broker. This is an important step in your business. Take your time while finding the right broker for you. Never say yes to the first one you meet! Here’s 5 steps to your license in Florida, if Manfred can be of assistance, we are happy to help!